Damn it, @cgzpack you keep changing the rules. I swear there was no limit when I read that thing originally.
Well, losing 2 Villagers tonight (if we do) is not tied to the lynch outcome. If Warbow is Village, then Captain did good. It was a perfect lazy vote for those who should be the targets of the Village to try to divert that target to. Warbow was not around much, admitted that he was "confused" by the rule set, and admitted that he can only play until Thursday. Path of least resistance. Easy/lazy place for Evil to try and hide.
If Warbow is good, then Captain did good by saving him and allowing the vote process to go maybe exposed some of the evil out there.
We'll have to let it play out to see, but to say that nothing was gained is wrong. We just may not know what exactly was gained as of right now. It may open up some things down the road.